Newark, New Jersey personal loan rates range from 6.00% to 18.00% APR, verified by MonitorBankRates as of October 19, 2026. Current personal loan options available to borrowers in Newark, New Jersey include: Local 1233 Federal Credit UnionLocal 1233 Federal Credit Union19 Fenwick St, Newark, NJ, 07114A+5.0 ★Texas Ratio: 0.59% offering Signature Loan - D at 6.00% APR, Liberty Savings Federal Credit UnionLiberty Savings Federal Credit Union106 Fleming Ave, Newark, NJ, 07105A5.0 ★Texas Ratio: 8.13% offering Unsecured Loans at 9.75% APR, Federal Employees Newark Federal Credit UnionFederal Employees Newark Federal Credit Union970 Broad St, Newark, NJ, 07102 2534A+5.0 ★Texas Ratio: 0.29% offering Preferred Customer Unsecured Loans at 9.95% APR, Essex County Teachers Federal Credit UnionEssex County Teachers Federal Credit Union465 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Newark, NJ, 07102A+5.0 ★Texas Ratio: 0.61% offering Personal Loans at 9.99% APR, and RUTGERSRUTGERS249 University Ave, Newark, NJ, 07102 1808A+5.0 ★Texas Ratio: 0.83% offering Personal Loan at 10.00% APR. Personal loan rates as of October 19, 2026 according to verified data from MonitorBankRates.
Newark has 9 local institutions in our database, with personal loan rates as low as 6.00% APR from Local 1233 Federal Credit Union at 19 Fenwick St, Newark, NJ, 07114. Use the tabs below to compare all available personal loan types. Rates are continually updated, so we recommend checking back frequently.
We empower borrowers with transparent, proprietary financial health metrics, including A-F Safety Grades, verified Star Ratings, and Texas Ratios, so you can confidently borrow from a stable, highly-rated institution in Newark, New Jersey.
Personal loan rates reflect recent market quotes and representative offers available to borrowers in Newark, New Jersey. Rates shown are typically “as low as” APRs for borrowers with excellent credit. Your final approved rate will depend on your credit history, credit score, income, and loan amount. Personal Loan Rates Last Updated and Verified: October 19, 2026
Loan grade D
As Low As; Loan eligibility, rates and terms determined by Liberty Savings Federal Credit Union based on borrower's credit worthiness
Maximum Loan Amount: $5,000
As Low As; Featured rate on homepage
As Low As; Rates are based on credit score
As Low As; APR may be as low as 10.24% or as high as 18.49% for the term of the loan; lowest rate includes 0.25% APR discount for enrolling in automatic payments at loan origination; loan amounts from $2,000 to $30,000; up to $50,000 for eligible existing Citi customers
As Low As; Personal Loans; Rates Determined by Credit Worthiness. All rates quoted are best rate available.
Loan grade B
Loan grade C
As Low As; Interest rate not printed as a number; direct deposit of at least $250 into an NJFCU checking account gives a .25% APR deduction, otherwise APR is .25% higher; document preparation fee $99.00; rates may vary depending on credit, loan amount, and loan term
As Low As; Interest rate not printed as a number; direct deposit of at least $250 into an NJFCU checking account gives a .25% APR deduction, otherwise APR is .25% higher; document preparation fee $99.00; rates may vary depending on credit, loan amount, and loan term
Loan grade A
Loan Amount: $2,000-$25,000; APR with Auto Deduct: 14.50%; Acceptable Collateral: Collateral Not Applicable
Maximum Loan Amount: $5,000; Amount of loan subject to credit evaluation
Loan grade E
6% for up to 5 years
Credit Score: More than 740; Amount Available: 100%; Based on individual applications for unsecured loans
As Low As; Rates as low as 6.99% APR; advertised APR includes 0.25% discount for automatic monthly payments
up to $2,500; Back to School Special; fixed APR for qualifying borrowers on unsecured loans up to $2,500
As Low As
As Low As; Starting as low as 7% APR
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 7.25 - 15.25%. Unsecured up to $50,000
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
APR range: 7.49% - 15.49%; Up to $10,000 maximum
Credit Score: 700 - 739; Amount Available: 100%; Based on individual applications for unsecured loans
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Rate is subject to change based on credit history and other factors
As Low As; No prepayment penalties; No collateral necessary; Payment protection available; Apply Online
As Low As; APR* as low as
Additional APR listed for this product: 8.99%, 9.99%. Credit score 750 or more; qualify to borrow up to $20,000.00; 10% of amount borrowed secured in share account
As Low As; Loan type listed under APY column on page
No additional details available.
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 8.00 - 16.00%. Unsecured up to $50,000
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Rates Starting @; Financing up to $20,000.00
Range: 8.49% - 15.99% interest rate based on credit score; New Loan Limit is $12,000.00
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
Term: Up to 5 year financing; As Low As; Up to $15,000; Up to 5 year financing
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates determined by personal credit history and payment method
As Low As; Rates as of Oct 13, 2026 ET; Rates subject to change and based on creditworthiness
As Low As; Borrow amount: Up to $15,000; Available for credit scores of 640 and above; $10,000 maximum for credit scores under 640
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
Rates include a 0.25% discount for direct deposit and electronic payment from a United Teletech checking account; maximum term 60 months
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 8.75 - 16.75%. Unsecured up to $50,000
As Low As; Featured Rate; Rates effective as of 03/01/2025
As Low As; Maximum loan amount: $35,000; assumes top tier credit and a term of 36 months or less
As Low As; APR* as low as
Rate reflects 1.00% reduction for automatic payment; Fico credit score of 680 or higher
Credit score of 750 and above; Max of $25,000.00
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; homepage featured rate
Credit Range: 730 Plus; Grade: A+
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
As Low As; Advertised rate based on creditworthiness
As Low As; based on credit score
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
As Low As; Rate may vary based on credit worthiness and term; Minimum savings balance of $100 required to be eligible for loans; Membership required
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Info: 1-60 months
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
Credit Range: 730 Plus; Grade: A+
No additional details available.
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $31.98
As Low As; Rates from 9.74% - 18.00% APR; Lowest rate includes 0.25% autopay discount from a Kinecta account; Repayment term 12 to 84 months; Maximum loan amount $50,000.00; Variable APR may change
As Low As; Unsecured personal (signature) loan; Subject to credit approval
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Min. amount to borrow $500.00; Max. amount to borrow $60,000.00; Add .50% APR if payment is not auto-deducted from checking with full direct deposit into checking with PFCU
As Low As; Min. amount to borrow: $500.00; Max. amount to borrow: $60,000.00; add .50% APR if payment is not auto deducted from checking account with full direct deposit into the checking account with PFCU
APR range: 9.90% to 18.0%
As low as; Consumer Loans; Maximum APR on all loans is 18.00%; Rates As Of 9/17/2026
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $20,000
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $1000 (With cosigner Maximum $3500)
As Low As; APR* as low as
Additional APR listed for this product: 13.99%, 18.00%. Signature Loan APR; Rates effective as of October 15, 2026
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; Rate as low as 9.99% APR; Consolidate with a Personal Loan
As Low As; Special limitations apply on all terms and rates; contact the credit union for more information
As Low As; Unsecured personal (signature) loan; Subject to credit approval
As Low As; Other Rates and Terms Apply.
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
As Low As; Rates Starting @; Financing up to $20,000.00
As Low As; advertised on Personal Loans page under Personal Loan Features ("Rates as low as 10.00%"); rate type not specified
Credit Range: 680-729; Grade: A
No additional details available.
As Low As; Maximum Loan Amount: $20,000; APR varies based on credit score
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $25.31
As Low As; Minimum loan $1,000; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
As Low As; Rates start at 10.24% APR; APRs range from 10.24% APR to 18% APR; repayment terms range from 12 to 60 months; fixed payments, no pre-payment penalties; membership required (lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in Monmouth or Ocean Counties)
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; Other Rates and Terms Apply.
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; Starting APR; Up to $15,000
No additional details available.
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
Credit Range: 680-729; Grade: A
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
Credit Report Score: 650 and Above
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $21.44
As Low As; Rates as of Oct 13, 2026 ET; Rates subject to change and based on creditworthiness
As Low As; Relationship Premium Annual Percentage Rate
As Low As; Minimum loan $2,500; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; Rates are determined by credit score, down payment, term and creditworthiness
As Low As; Rates are determined by credit score, down payment, term and creditworthiness
As Low As; Rates are determined by credit score, down payment, term and creditworthiness
As Low As; Minimum loan $5,000; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
As Low As; APR* as low as
Credit score of 700 - 749; Max of $20,000.00
Borrow amount: Up to $15,000; Qualified borrowers only; base rates published; available for credit scores of 640 and above, $10,000 maximum for credit scores under 640
Credit score 750 or more; only for loans over $5,000.00; 10% of amount borrowed secured in share account
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
Credit Range: 640-679; Grade: B
No additional details available.
As Low As; up to $10,000 for 3 years
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
Tiered Pricing: Based on Credit Criteria
No additional details available.
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; Featured rate on homepage
As Low As; Rates are based on credit score
As Low As; APR may be as low as 10.24% or as high as 18.49% for the term of the loan; lowest rate includes 0.25% APR discount for enrolling in automatic payments at loan origination; loan amounts from $2,000 to $30,000; up to $50,000 for eligible existing Citi customers
As Low As; Personal Loans; Rates Determined by Credit Worthiness. All rates quoted are best rate available.
As Low As; Interest rate not printed as a number; direct deposit of at least $250 into an NJFCU checking account gives a .25% APR deduction, otherwise APR is .25% higher; document preparation fee $99.00; rates may vary depending on credit, loan amount, and loan term
As Low As; Interest rate not printed as a number; direct deposit of at least $250 into an NJFCU checking account gives a .25% APR deduction, otherwise APR is .25% higher; document preparation fee $99.00; rates may vary depending on credit, loan amount, and loan term
As Low As; Rates as low as 6.99% APR; advertised APR includes 0.25% discount for automatic monthly payments
up to $2,500; Back to School Special; fixed APR for qualifying borrowers on unsecured loans up to $2,500
As Low As
As Low As; Starting as low as 7% APR
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 7.25 - 15.25%. Unsecured up to $50,000
APR range: 7.49% - 15.49%; Up to $10,000 maximum
As Low As; Rate is subject to change based on credit history and other factors
As Low As; No prepayment penalties; No collateral necessary; Payment protection available; Apply Online
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 8.00 - 16.00%. Unsecured up to $50,000
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
As Low As; Rates Starting @; Financing up to $20,000.00
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
Term: Up to 5 year financing; As Low As; Up to $15,000; Up to 5 year financing
As Low As; Rates as of Oct 13, 2026 ET; Rates subject to change and based on creditworthiness
As Low As; Borrow amount: Up to $15,000; Available for credit scores of 640 and above; $10,000 maximum for credit scores under 640
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
Rates include a 0.25% discount for direct deposit and electronic payment from a United Teletech checking account; maximum term 60 months
up to $50,000; Published APR range: 8.75 - 16.75%. Unsecured up to $50,000
As Low As; Featured Rate; Rates effective as of 03/01/2025
As Low As; Maximum loan amount: $35,000; assumes top tier credit and a term of 36 months or less
Credit score of 750 and above; Max of $25,000.00
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; homepage featured rate
up to $15,000; Certain terms & conditions apply
As Low As; based on credit score
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
As Low As; Info: 1-60 months
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
No additional details available.
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $31.98
As Low As; Rates from 9.74% - 18.00% APR; Lowest rate includes 0.25% autopay discount from a Kinecta account; Repayment term 12 to 84 months; Maximum loan amount $50,000.00; Variable APR may change
As Low As; Min. amount to borrow $500.00; Max. amount to borrow $60,000.00; Add .50% APR if payment is not auto-deducted from checking with full direct deposit into checking with PFCU
APR range: 9.90% to 18.0%
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $20,000
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $1000 (With cosigner Maximum $3500)
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; Rate as low as 9.99% APR; Consolidate with a Personal Loan
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
As Low As; Rates Starting @; Financing up to $20,000.00
As Low As; advertised on Personal Loans page under Personal Loan Features ("Rates as low as 10.00%"); rate type not specified
No additional details available.
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $25.31
As Low As; Minimum loan $1,000; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
As Low As; Rates start at 10.24% APR; APRs range from 10.24% APR to 18% APR; repayment terms range from 12 to 60 months; fixed payments, no pre-payment penalties; membership required (lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in Monmouth or Ocean Counties)
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; Starting APR; Up to $15,000
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
Monthly Payment per $1,000 Borrowed: $21.44
As Low As; Rates as of Oct 13, 2026 ET; Rates subject to change and based on creditworthiness
As Low As; Relationship Premium Annual Percentage Rate
As Low As; Minimum loan $2,500; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; Minimum loan $5,000; maximum $20,000; Automatic Payments reduce rate .25%
Credit score of 700 - 749; Max of $20,000.00
Borrow amount: Up to $15,000; Qualified borrowers only; base rates published; available for credit scores of 640 and above, $10,000 maximum for credit scores under 640
As Low As; With Direct Deposit
As Low As; APR requires automatic payment from a Monroe Savings Bank Checking account (without add .25%)
No additional details available.
As Low As; up to $10,000 for 3 years
Effective as of: October 1, 2022
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates include 0.25% reduction for automatic payments made from your Motion account
Maximum: total not to exceed $25,000; APR*=Annual Percentage Rate; Loan Rates as of 6/2/25
As Low As; Personal Loans; Rates Determined by Credit Worthiness. All rates quoted are best rate available.
As Low As; Max $20,000; Rates determined by personal credit history and payment method
As Low As; Advertised rate based on creditworthiness
As Low As; Rate may vary based on credit worthiness and term; Minimum savings balance of $100 required to be eligible for loans; Membership required
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Up to $30,000.00; A and A+ paper only; proceeds made directly to creditors only
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Max of $20,000.00
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Maximum: total not to exceed $40,000
Loan grade D
Loan grade B
Loan grade C
Loan grade A
Loan grade E
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Loan type listed under APY column on page
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
Range: 8.49% - 15.99% interest rate based on credit score; New Loan Limit is $12,000.00
As Low As; Application Fee: $35.00
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
As Low As; Unsecured personal (signature) loan; Subject to credit approval
As Low As; Personal loan APR; Loan amount $500 to $50,000
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
Lowest Rates For Signature Loans: Max. Amount Financed $35,000; APR=Annual Percentage Rate. Actual rate may vary based on Credit-Worthiness.
As low as; Consumer Loans; Maximum APR on all loans is 18.00%; Rates As Of 9/17/2026
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $20,000
Published APR range: 9.95% - 11.95%. Loan Accounts as of September 16, 2026; Maximum $1000 (With cosigner Maximum $3500)
Additional APR listed for this product: 13.99%, 18.00%. Signature Loan APR; Rates effective as of October 15, 2026
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; Special limitations apply on all terms and rates; contact the credit union for more information
As Low As; Unsecured personal (signature) loan; Subject to credit approval
As Low As; Other Rates and Terms Apply.
As Low As; Maximum Loan Amount: $20,000; APR varies based on credit score
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
As Low As; Other Rates and Terms Apply.
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
Published rate range: as low as 10.50%. As Low As; Maximum Amount: $25,000.00; Must have over 6-months of employment.; Personal loan up to a maximum amount of $15,000 per section note
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
As Low As; Personal Loan APR as low as*
As Low As; Rates shown are lowest possible and may not apply to every borrower, higher rates may be charged depending on credit qualifications
Compare local Newark, NJ personal loan rates against the statewide average
Daily personal loan rate averages tracked across our database of 8,500+ banks and credit unions, updated every evening.
New Jersey personal loan rates rose 0.012 points over the past 7 days to 10.420% APR.
New Jersey signature loan rates rose 0.181 points over the past 7 days to 10.188% APR.
Personal loan APRs follow lender funding costs and credit conditions. Our model projects the likely path of personal and signature loan averages from the current New Jersey figures.
Key assumptions: the Federal Reserve holds the federal funds rate at its current level over the next 12 months, with the possibility of one 25 basis point increase; unsecured lenders reprice new offers within one to two policy cycles, and advertised as-low-as rates move before average approved rates do.
Important notice: this forecast is for informational purposes only and should not be used as the sole basis for financial decisions. Rate forecasts carry significant uncertainty. The actual trajectory will depend on Federal Reserve decisions, economic conditions, and competitive dynamics among financial institutions.
Estimated monthly payments at the current NJ average personal loan APR of 10.42%, across the terms lenders serving Newark, New Jersey most commonly offer. Personal loans are fixed-rate and fully amortizing, so the payment never changes and the balance reaches zero on schedule.
| Loan Amount | 24 Months | 36 Months | 48 Months | 60 Months |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $5,000 | $231.69/mo | $162.32/mo | $127.82/mo | $107.27/mo |
| $10,000 | $463.39/mo | $324.65/mo | $255.65/mo | $214.54/mo |
| $15,000 | $695.08/mo | $486.97/mo | $383.47/mo | $321.81/mo |
| $25,000 | $1,158.47/mo | $811.61/mo | $639.11/mo | $536.35/mo |
| $35,000 | $1,621.86/mo | $1,136.26/mo | $894.76/mo | $750.89/mo |
Principal and interest only. Does not include any origination fee, which some lenders deduct from your loan proceeds. Your APR depends on credit score, income, loan amount, term, and lender underwriting.
Debt consolidation is the most common reason people take a personal loan, and the math is usually straightforward: credit cards carry variable double-digit APRs, while a personal loan locks in a fixed rate and a fixed payoff date. Below is the total interest on a $15,000 balance repaid over 48 months at the NJ personal loan average versus a range of typical credit card APRs.
| Repayment Option | APR | Monthly Payment | Total Interest | Interest Saved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal Loan (NJ average) | 10.42% | $383.47 | $3,406 | |
| Credit card at 18% APR | 18.00% | $440.62 | $6,150 | $2,744 |
| Credit card at 22% APR | 22.00% | $472.59 | $7,684 | $4,278 |
| Credit card at 26% APR | 26.00% | $505.76 | $9,276 | $5,870 |
The 18%, 22%, and 26% figures are illustrative points across the range card issuers commonly charge, not a published average. Check your own statement for your actual APR, then use the calculator below to run your real numbers. This comparison assumes a fixed 48-month payoff in both cases; paying only the card minimum would stretch the timeline and raise interest substantially. Consolidation only helps if you avoid rebuilding a balance on the paid-off cards.
Most lenders serving Newark, New Jersey will show you an estimated APR using a soft inquiry that does not touch your credit score. Prequalify with several before formally applying. The advertised rate is the best-qualified rate, and the number you personally receive can differ by many percentage points.
Origination fees run as high as 10% of the amount borrowed and come straight out of your proceeds, so a loan with a lower interest rate can cost more than one with a higher rate and no fee. APR folds the fee in, which makes it the only number worth comparing across lenders.
Credit unions consistently publish the lowest personal loan APRs in our New Jersey data, and many charge no origination fee. Membership is usually easier than expected; many accept anyone who lives, works, or worships in the area. Federal credit unions are also capped by regulation on what they may charge.
Lenders often price longer terms at higher APRs, so a 60-month loan can cost more per dollar borrowed than a 36-month loan on top of accruing interest for longer. Take the shortest term whose payment comfortably fits your budget, and resist rounding the amount up.
Local demographics and economic context for borrowers. Source: U.S. Census Bureau
A $383 monthly loan payment is roughly 13.2% of the median individual income in Newark, New Jersey. Lenders generally want your total monthly debt payments, including housing, to stay under roughly 36% of gross income, so consider the new payment alongside everything you already owe.
A personal loan is fast and requires no collateral, but it is not always the cheapest way to borrow. Here is how it compares to the main alternatives available to borrowers in Newark, New Jersey.
| Feature | Personal Loan | Credit Card | 0% Balance Transfer | Home Equity Loan / HELOC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Typical APR Level | ● Mid, fixed | ✗ Highest, variable | ✓ 0% for a promo window | ✓ Usually lowest |
| Collateral Required | ✓ None | ✓ None | ✓ None | ✗ Your home is at risk |
| Payment Predictability | ✓ Fixed payment and payoff date | ✗ Revolving, can last indefinitely | ● Rate jumps when promo ends | ● Fixed for loans, variable for HELOCs |
| Speed to Funding | ✓ Often 1 to 3 business days | ✓ Immediate if you hold the card | ● Card approval plus transfer time | ✗ Weeks (appraisal and closing) |
| Upfront Costs | ● Origination fee up to ~10% | ✓ None | ● Transfer fee, typically 3 to 5% | ● Closing costs possible |
| Best For | Consolidation and one-off costs, no collateral | Small balances paid in full monthly | Debt you can clear inside the promo window | Large projects when you have equity and time |
General comparison for educational purposes; terms, eligibility, and pricing vary by lender and borrower credit profile. Borrowing against your home converts unsecured debt into secured debt; missed payments can put the property at risk. MonitorBankRates is not a lender or financial advisor.
Estimate your monthly payment, total interest, and what an origination fee actually costs you. We’ve prefilled the APR with the current NJ average, or click any rate on the right to apply it instantly.
Estimates assume a fixed-rate, fully amortizing loan with equal monthly payments and no prepayment. “Cash you actually receive” subtracts any origination fee deducted from proceeds; you still repay, and pay interest on, the full loan amount. Advertised APRs typically require strong credit; your approved rate may differ. This tool is for illustration and is not a loan offer.
Independent, Free, and Unbiased Rate Comparisons: MonitorBankRates.com is an independent rate comparison service. Our Newark, New Jersey personal loan rate tables are free for consumers to use, and we do not receive payment from any lender to be included or to be ranked in any particular order. Listings are based solely on the rates each lender publicly advertises on its own website.
A Note on Third-Party Rate Tools: Some pages on our site also feature rate comparison widgets and tools provided by third-party partners. These tools may include sponsored listings or affiliate links, and we may receive compensation when users click through them. We clearly label these widgets so you can tell at a glance which rates come from our independent MonitorBankRates.com tables and which come from our advertising partners.
Direct-Sourced & Verified Personal Loan Rate Data: We aggregate personal loan rates for Newark, New Jersey directly from the official websites of banks, credit unions, and online lenders using our proprietary rate aggregation technology and a dedicated team of rate updaters. By sourcing data from the institutions’ own digital properties and verifying APRs regularly, every rate on MonitorBankRates.com is highly accurate and trustworthy.
Local, Regional, and National Coverage: Our systems constantly monitor the market to provide a complete picture of available personal loan products in Newark, New Jersey. We feature a comprehensive mix of lenders, from neighborhood credit unions and competitive regional banks to large national lenders available to borrowers in NJ.
Regularly Updated APRs: Our rate updaters verify and update personal loan rates regularly. Because APRs can change based on market conditions and lender policies, every product features its own “last updated” date for full transparency. Personal loan APRs shown typically represent “as low as” rates for borrowers with excellent credit; your actual rate will depend on your credit history, credit score, income, and loan amount.
A FICO score below 580 is considered poor and 580 to 669 is fair. You can still get a personal loan with bad credit, but expect an APR well above the best rates on this page, a smaller loan amount, or a request for collateral or a cosigner. Where you apply matters as much as your score.
Federal credit unions cannot charge more than 18% APR on most loans through September 10, 2027. Many weigh your income and membership history, not just your score.
Many federal credit unions offer PALs for small, short term needs, capped at 28% APR with an application fee of no more than $20. That is a fraction of what a payday lender charges.
A share secured or CD secured loan uses your own savings as collateral, so approval is easy and the APR is low. On time payments are reported to the credit bureaus and help rebuild your score.
A second applicant with stronger credit can lower your rate and raise the amount you qualify for. They are equally responsible for every payment.
Most lenders show an estimated rate with a soft credit check that does not affect your score. Compare APRs, including any origination fee, before you submit a full application.
The CFPB notes a typical payday fee of $15 per $100 equals an APR of almost 400% on a two week loan. A title loan puts your car at risk. A credit union loan costs far less.